Spring is Here, Suppuhring is Here!

I have remembered one of the joys of spring today! There are many joys indeed, but ranking up there with new leaves, blossoms and warmth has to be fresh, sweet, new season asparagus. I bought some from Woolies on the way home from the office.

SWMBO and I both have colds, the golden retriever is ill and the E has a sore shoulder. The A is beside herself because no one wants to pay any attention to her and her usually endearing approaches are now just a nuisance. All I was looking for was something easy for supper, so bake and eat lasange came first. I do not buy ready meals, I really don’t, but today was an exception of necessity. I know that it will be too salty, too fatty and generally not especially nice, but I just want to get to bed without too much of an argument with SWMBO as there will invariably be about something. Because I felt that we had to have some greenery with the meal I tossed a packet of organic asapragus into the basket. I knew that we had some mayonnaise in the fridge and thought that we could eat it with that. Of course the mayo had dried up, it had a skin and was well on the way to salmonella. The nuisance of it, it meant that I had to make some more – one egg, a lot of sunflower oil, the juice of one lemon, two anchovies, a bit of salt and a teaspoon of dried English mustard.

I dipped a stalk of sweet, lightly cooked asparagus into this creamy, salty goo and my cold disappeared. All I really want to do now is wander down to a secluded spot in the garden by myself with a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc, the bowl of mayo and the remaining stalks.

I will, however, share the meal with SWMBO because I am a dutiful husband and she needs some cheering up too, but it is a wrench, and I did have to think about it. The S/B is Warwick Professor Black for those of you who are interested. It works a treat.

About deepblue

Optimist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment