Being a Father

I sometimes feel so completely inadequate to the task of parenthood.  While it seems that some take to the role like a duck to water, I battle with it.  It has nothing to do with love I don’t think.  I love my daughters more than anything else I have ever loved.  I struggle though with ego.  My daughters’ behaviour, occasionally completely unfathomable, bumps against my sense of self.  Against how I think my daughters, well brought up little girls obviously, should behave.  Am I so wrapped up in myself that I unable to respond to these creatures as children?  My immediate response to behaviour which, for an adult at least, is totally outlandish seems to be irritation rather than amusement.

I understand so much better now the guilt that goes with parenting.  Rationally the muddy print on the white sofa is irrelevant.  It was put there by a careless hand in the course of play.  The sofa will wash and, if it doesn’t, does it really matter?  Instinctively, however, it presses all of my buttons; I don’t behave like that, have they no respect for property, I look after my things, why can’t they show the same care?  It’s nonsense of course and I thought that I would develop a greater level of tolerance as the girls grew. The reverse seems to be the case.  I thought that they would show greater care and become more adult long before they could or should, and the fact that they haven’t, which I am grateful for, ironically makes me possibly more intolerant than ever before.

This evening my 4 (and a half) year old was messing around and didn’t come through to have her teeth brushed until I yelled.  When she arrived she was still fiddling with something and so, rather than display the patience and care that a 42 year old should with someone as young as she is, I descended into the arena.  Holding her tightly between my knees I brushed teeth vigorously, deaf to yells and tears.  When the ordeal was over she went running to mum explaining how Daddy had hurt her.  I feel like a cad.  It is like this that we wound ourselves.  She is over it and we kissed goodnight very sweetly, but I wish that I could find some regular way of avoiding these incidents.  Life isn’t always about discipline.

About deepblue

Optimist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment