My Garden is Fucked

Not quite fucked perhaps, but definitely grim.  The black frost has left my trees standing, but I’ve no idea whether they’re still alive or just pretending to be. Highveld winter! It’s just revolting – dry, dusty, cold at night and warm during the day – neither fish nor fowl.  There’s no greenery and there won’t be any sign of rain for at least two months.

The other plants in the garden affected by the severe early season frosts have dried up and are now starting to collapse under the weight of their desiccated corpses. My skin is dry my eyes are sore and SWMBO is ratty. The earth is packed hard and the dead grass blows in husks off its surface. Everything, especially the children and the golden retriever, is covered in a file layer of grime.

Many people who move to Johannesburg welcome the winter. ‘Clear blue skies and and warm days’ they rapture.  What nonsense, they’re obviously complete morons!  The sky is powder blue directly above one’s head but as it approaches the horizon it gradually lightens to white as the sun filters through the thickening smog.  Every available patch of veld has been burnt black and, as I yank off yet another hangnail, I realise yet again that there is nothing, nothing pleasant about midwinter in Joburg.

The builders have moved out I suppose, a ray of light until tomorrow, but I haven’t mentioned the acid mine drainage problem which is steadily poisoning our rivers and ground water yet have I?

About deepblue

Optimist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Garden is Fucked

  1. Nicole says:

    Oh that’s much more cheerful than mine, isn’t it.

  2. anon says:

    Jhb sucks…..completely….

Leave a comment